Tags

, , , , , ,

Over the past few years, I’ve tried several different ways of preserving summer herbs throughout the winter.  Today, I want to share one of my favorite ways…

I mainly use this with cilantro because I feel like dried cilantro just does not have the same depth or intensity when dried.

…what you’ll need…

  • fresh herb clippings
  • mason jar
  • scissors
  • olive oil

…what you’ll do…

  • rinse and then strip your stem clippings of the herbs
  • place in mason jar
  • while in jar chop with scissors to desired consistency
  • add olive oil and shake gently
  • cap and freeze
  • microwave 10-30 seconds and spoon out desired amount

…why this works…

  • quick access to fresh herbs throughout the fall, winter, and spring
  • easy prep, no tasteless dried herbs, no bulky bags filled with ice cubes floating in your freezer
  • the taste and smell of fresh herbs in the dead of winter without paying outrageous market prices

I hope you will enjoy this technique as much as I do and, as always, if you’ve got any tips of your own, feel free to share!

 

 

