Tags

, , , , , , , ,

IMG_1862

While the snow is definitely too early for my liking, I couldn’t help but to look outside every 10-15 minutes to watch the snow fall.  I love fresh snow – especially when it blankets everything!  The quiet and the unexpected coziness of falling snow amazes me every time!

In honor of last night’s snowfall, I wanted to make something for breakfast that really said “winter comfort food.”  For me, that is  something baked.  I found this delicious recipe for Pecan Cobbler not too long ago and have been waiting for the “right time” to make it – I think this early snowfall and these frigid temperatures provide the perfect opportunity.   Have you ever known from the start of a recipe that you were about to make something wonderful – something that would become a family favorite?  For me, this is one of those recipes.  I am making it for breakfast, but this makes a great dessert and is amazing served warm with cinnamon ice cream (I use Cold Stone Creamery’s Cinnamon Ice Cream; find a store near you here!).

That being said, here is the recipe:

Pecan Cobbler

Ingredients
  • 6 tbs butter
  • 1 c pecansIMG_1863
  • 1 ½ c all-purpose flour
  • 2 ½ tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1½ c granulated sugar
  • ⅔ c milk
  • 1 tsp maple extract
  • 1 ½ c packed dark brown sugar
  • 1 ½ c hot water
IMG_1865Instructions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Melt butter in a 9×13 “ pan in the microwave or oven.

Sprinkle pecans over melted butter.

Combine flour, sugar, milk and vanilla in bowl, mix until combined.

Pour batter over butter and pecans, do not mix.

Sprinkle brown sugar evenly over batter, do not stir.

Carefully pour hot water over the mixture, do not stir.

Bake 30 to 35 minutes or until golden brown.*

*The original recipe states that the cobbler will not be firm after baking; it will firm up as it cools.

Adapted from Call Me PMc